Awards Ceremony for Durham Region Art & Essay Contest was held on May 15th, 2013 at Ajax Convention Centre with 200 distinguished guests in attendance. You can view photos and videos from the ceremony at this page; and also find info about the winners and their winning posters and essays. There was great excitement during the ceremony, because nobody knew the winners, and all finalists were hopeful that their names might be called as one of them.


Winners of Art Contest and their posters are listed below (click thumbnails to see the names of the winners):


Winners of the Essay Contest and their essays are listed below:

1st Place: Jenny Zhou, Pickering HS, DDSB

2nd Place: Abbey Smith, Courtice SS, KPRDSB

3rd Place: Ouvedi Rama Naiken, Sinclair SS, DDSB

Finalist: Dency Sahayarajah, Notre Dame CSS, DCDSB 

Finalist: Alexa Battler, Pickering HS, DDSB 

Finalist: Dakota Hampson, RS McLaughlin CV, DDSB

Finalist: Stephanie Barrie, Bowmanville HS, DDSB



IDI Toronto
cordially invites you to attend the Awards Ceremony for the
Art & Essay Contest co-organized by School Boards in Durham Region.

@IDIToronto   #DArtEssay

Contest Theme
“Who is My Neighbour?”

Ajax Convention Centre
550 Beck Crescent  Ajax, ON L1Z 1C9

May 15th, 2013  6:30pm

Keynote Speaker
George Zegarac, Deputy Minister of Education

Dan Carter, Executive Producer of Channel 12

Dinner will be served…

Please RSVP by May 11th, 2013 at

Adrian Foster, Mayor of Clarington
Ben Earle, Executive Director, CDCD
Chris Alexander, MP Ajax-Pickering
Corneliu Chisu, MP Pickering-Scarborough East
Dave Ryan, Mayor of Pickering
Don Lovisa, President of Durham College
Joe Dickson, MPP Ajax-Pickering
John Henry, Mayor of Oshawa
Martyn Beckett, Director of Education, DDSB
Mike Ewles, Chief of Durham Regional Police
Pat Perkins, Mayor of Whitby
Paul Pulla, Director of Education, DCDSB
Roger Anderson, Regional Chair & CEO of Durham
Rusty Hick, Director of Education, KPRDSB
Shashi Bhatia, President, Indo-Canadian Assoc. of Durham
Steve Parish, Mayor of Ajax
Tim McTiernan, President of UOIT
Tracy MacCharles, MPP Pickering-Scarborough East

Durham District School Board, Durham Catholic District School Board,
Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board, and Peterborough Victoria
Northumberland & Clarington Catholic District School Board

Main Sponsor:

Community Sponsors:
Durham College, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Community Development Council Durham

Media Sponsor:
Rogers TV Durham