Invalid Displayed Gallery

Public Heroes GTA 2014 Awards Ceremony was held on April 23rd at Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre. An audience of 200 people joined IDI GTA in honouring the outstanding police officers, firefighters and paramedics from Durham, York and Toronto. People enjoyed the dinner and a speech by the MP Roxanne James praising the work of first responders in our country. A wonderful live concert by Coppertones, a 40 years old  music band comprised of full-time Toronto Police Officers, created memorable times for everybody. Armand La Barge, retired chief of York Regional Police, did a great job hosting the event as the MC.

Below are the names of the Public Heroes honoured at the ceremony.

Recipient Service Award Type Award Presented by
Mike Ewles Durham Regional Police Service Lifetime Achievement Roxanne James, MP Scarborough Centre
John Zivcic Toronto Police Service Public Hero (honorary) Alok Mukherjee, Chair of Toronto Police Service Board
Chris Spearen York Region EMS Public Hero Jugmeet Singh, MPP Bramalea-Gore-Malton
Glen Gillies Toronto EMS Public Hero Cheri DiNovo, MPP Parkdale-High Park
Jeffrey David Toronto Fire Services Public Hero Jim Sales, Chief of Toronto Fire Services
Kolin Alexander York Regional Police Public Hero Tom Carrique, Deputy Chief York Regional Police
Shaun Mitchell Central York Fire Services Public Hero Paul Martin, Deputy Chief, Durham Regional Police
Stephen Hicks Toronto Police Service Public Hero Rick Stubbings, Staff Superintendent, Toronto Police Service
Terry Rayner Durham Regional Police Service Public Hero Garry Cubitt, CAO of Region of Durham


Public Heroes Awards Ceremony 2014

Date: April 23rd, 6:30pm
Venue: Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre, 6 Garamond Court, Toronto ON.

Opening Remarks by
MP Roxanne James
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Chief of Durham Police, Mike Ewles will be honoured with a lifetime achievement award.

Mini Concert by
Toronto Police Music Band

Videos & photos from Public Hereos Award Ceremonies in the past…
IDI GTA proudly presents the Awards Ceremony for Public Heroes GTA
2014 Awards Ceremony. IDI GTA has been giving Public Heroes Awards since
2011 to recognize the outstanding service of Toronto Police, Fire and
Emergency Medical Services in maintaining public safety in the city of
Toronto. In 2014, upon recommendation from its advisory board, IDI GTA
has decided the extend the scope of the awards to whole Greater Toronto
Area (GTA).

The goal of the awards is to recognize the dedication
and excellence of individual members of police, fire and emergency
medical services in city of Toronto, Peel Region, York Region and Durham Region for delivering their services in an ethnically
and culturally diverse environment.

Award recipients are selected by a hosting & selection committee based the following three criteria: “Altruism”, “Dedication” and “Community Involvement”.

Members of the Hosting & Selection Committee

Armand La Barge    Former Chief of York Police
Bruce Farr    Former Chief of Toronto EMS
Bruce Newton    Superintendent, Toronto EMS
Chuck Mercier    Mayor, Township of Scugog
Colin Carrie    MP, Oshawa
Dave Ralph    Retired Commander, Toronto EMS
Jagmeet Singh    MPP, Bramalea-Gore-Malton
Johnny Bobbili    Constable, Toronto Police
Mitzie Hunter    MPP, Scarborough Guildwood
Rahul Bhardwaj    President & CEO, Toronto Community Foundation
Rick Stubbings    Staff Superintendent, Toronto Police
Tony Warr    Former Deputy Chief of Toronto Police
Usha George    Dean, Faculty of Community Services, Ryerson University
William Stewart    Former Chief of Toronto Fire Service

Event Supporters:
Durham Regional Police Service
Durham Emergency Medical Services
Peel Regional Police Service
Peel Regional Paramedic Services
Toronto Police Services
Toronto Emergency Medical Services
Toronto Fire Services
York Regional Police
York Region Emergency Medical Services
East Gwilliambury Fire Services