no images were found




The winners and finalists of the 5th Annual Creative Minds Youth Contest Peel were recognized on April 11th, 2018 at the Mississauga Convention Centre. This year’s theme “Empathy: Walking in Another’s Shoes” showcased much of the diversity and inclusion that can be seen throughout the Peel and Dufferin-Peel Catholic school boards.

Creative Minds Contest Peel is an annual collaborative effort of Intercultural Dialogue Institute GTA, Peel District School Board and Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board. The contest is conducted for high school students in three categories: art, essay and video. It aims to engage students intellectually and creatively in a wide range of social, cultural and environmental topics and provide them with a unique opportunity to express their ideas through their creative pieces. It is expected to make a positive impact in preparing youth to be empathetic and responsible citizens of their communities and the globe.

The awards ceremony was attended by around 150 guests including finalists, their family members and teachers as well as prominent leaders of Peel Region. It was full of exciting moments for the students since no one knew who the winners were before their names were announced on the stage by the award presenters. Some of the award presenters included Suzanne Nurse (Vice Chair, Peel District School Board), Anna Da Silva (Vice Chair, Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board), Peter Joshua (Director of Education, Peel District School Board), Marianne Mazzorato (Director of Education, Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board), Peter Dundas (Chief, Peel Regional Paramedic Services), Mary Beth Moellenkamp (Service Director, Peel Children’s Aid Society), Janice Baker (City Manager and CAO, Mississauga) and Juliet Jackson (Director, Culture & Inclusion, Region of Peel). The event also featured a keynote address on the contest theme by Kenn Richard, Founder and Director of Native Family and Child Services.   

The contest was also sponsored by a number of organizations in Peel region including the Regional Municipality of Peel, Peel Children’s Aid Society, Peel Regional Police and Town of Caledon as well as a distinguished Selection and Hosting Committee comprised of many prominent leaders of the region (click here to see the committee).



Award Student School Grade Teacher School Board
1st Cathy Wang John Cabot Catholic SS  12 Leslie Fountain  DPCDSB
2nd Jade Clemente John Cabot Catholic SS 12 Leslie Fountain DPCDSB
3rd Claudia Gabiga Iona Catholic SS  11 Ewa English DPCDSB
Finalist Daniella Haddadin Iona Catholic SS 11 Ewa English  DPCDSB
Finalist Abigail Natanegara Iona Catholic SS 11 Ewa English  DPCDSB
Finalist Melissa Rodrigues Cardinal Leger Catholic SS 12 Anna Catena  DPCDSB
Finalist Pauline Gahunia Cardinal Leger Catholic SS 12 Anna Catena  DPCDSB
Finalist Hannah Baron Cawthra Park SS 11 Arlene San Agustin  PDSB



Award Student  School Grade Teacher School Board
1st Rachel Cleland Peel Alternative School North 11 Caitlin Burgess  PDSB
2nd Ramleen Dhillon Louise Arbour SS 11 NA  PDSB
3rd Amarachi Nwigwe John Cabot Catholic SS 11 Tizianna Klin  DPCDSB



Award Students School Grade Teacher(s) School Board
1st Katherine DeZilva,
Chelsea Franchino,
Muhammed Bilal Khan
John Cabot Catholic SS  10 Kielle Bizzarro  DPCDSB
2nd Andre Santos St. Roch Catholic SS 12 Mario Antoghetti  DPCDSB
3rd Hanna Peters,
Keisha Guthrie
St. Roch Catholic SS 11 Peter Fujiwara  DPCDSB
Finalist Cresen Jake Hunos St. Roch Catholic SS 12 Mario Antoghetti  DPCDSB