After initial screening of entries by the school boards and the IDI jury, the Selection and Hosting Committee of the contest will evaluate top ten essays and artworks to select the winners in each category. The committee will also act as the honorary hosting committee of the award dinner on February 18th, 2015, hence the name Selection and Hosting Committee.


Alison Syme, Professor and Acting Chair, Department of Visual Studies, UTM

Bonnie Crombie, Mayor, City of Mississauga

Burhan Kuruscu, Chair of the Board of Directors, Intercultural Dialogue Institute GTA

Chief Jennifer Evans, Peel Regional Police

David Szwarc, Chief Executive Officer, Region of Peel

Deep Saini, Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga

Elaine Moore, Peel Regional Councillor (Brampton)

Emil Kolb, Chair, Region of Peel

George Carlson, Peel Regional Councillor (Mississauga)

Holger Syme, Professor and Chair, Depratment of English and Drama, UTM

Humphrey Mitchell, Executive Director, Peel Children’s Centre

Jagmeet Singh, MPP, Bramalea-Gore-Malton

Janet McDougald, Chair, Peel District School Board

Jeff Zabudsky, President, Sheridan College

Kyle Seeback, MP Brampton West

Lynn Petrushchak, Executive Director, Dixie Bloor Neighborhood Centre

Marolyn Morrison, Former Mayor, Town of Caledon

Rav Bains, Executive Director of Peel Children’s Aid Society

Sandy Milakovic, Former Executive Director, Canadian Mental Health Association

Shelley White, President and CEO, United Way of Peel

Stuart Keeler, Director, Mississauga Art Gallery

Tony Pontes, Director of Education, Peel District School Board