IDI GTA has been giving Public Heroes Awards since 2011 to recognize the outstanding service of Toronto Police, Fire and Paramedic Services in maintaining public safety in the city of Toronto. In 2014, upon recommendation from its advisory board, IDI GTA has decided the extend the scope of the awards to whole Greater Toronto Area (GTA).

The goal of the awards is to recognize the dedication and excellence of individual members or team members of police, fire and paramedic services in GTA (including RCMP, OPP, ORNGE and Corrections Ontario) for delivering their services in an ethnically and culturally diverse environment.

Award recipients are selected by a hosting & selection committee based the following three criteria: “Altruism”, “Dedication” and “Community Involvement”.

Members of the Hosting & Selection Committee

Armand La Barge    Retired Chief, York Regional Police
Bill Blair   MP, Scarborough Southwest
Bruce Farr    Retired Chief, Toronto Paramedic Services
Bruce Newton    Superintendent, Toronto Paramedic Services
Chuck Mercier    Former Mayor, Township of Scugog
Colin Carrie    Member of Parliament, Oshawa
Dave Ralph    Retired Commander, Toronto Paramedic Services
Deryn Rizzi    Deputy Chief,  Vaughan Fire Department
Jagmeet Singh    MPP, Bramalea-Gore-Malton
Johnny Bobbili    Constable, Toronto Police
Mike Ewles    Retired Chief, Durham Regional Police
Rahul Bhardwaj    President & CEO, Toronto Community Foundation
Rick Stubbings    Staff Superintendent, Toronto Police
Rose Buhagiar Director, Toronto South Detention Centre
Tony Warr    Retired Deputy Chief, Toronto Police
Usha George    Dean, Faculty of Community Services, Ryerson University

Nominations, Selection Process and Awards
One staff member or a team from each service in all four regions of GTA (Peel, York, Toronto, Durham) as well as members of RCMP, OPP, ORNGE and Correctional Services will be awarded with Public Heroes Award.  Nominations will be submitted online via a designated web page by members of the public. Deadline for nominations is March 1st, 2016. Selection committee will cast their votes online to determine the award recipients.

Awards Ceremony for Public Heroes 2016 will be held on April 14th at Mississauga Convention Centre.

Click here for Public Heroes Awards Ceremonies from previous years…